Anqi Wang
Section FK

From the three assigned reading, I chose “Learning to Read”, which was written by Malcolm X, to write a
summary.  

As for me, the biggest problem was how to summarize such a long reading into 300 words.  “Leaning to Read” was like 9 pages long on the book. After reading this essay, I didn’t know what I should write in my summary, what I should ignore. I used to think, to write a summary, I need to cover everything including many details. But this opinion seemed not work for a long essay.  It was impossible to mention so many details in a summary. To solve this problem, I read the essay again and again. And then I figured out a flow chart, which could show me the cause and effect of the author’s story. To understand each paragraph, I read the main sentence of each one. I thought that was a good way to understand the main ideas. And when I wrote my summary, I skipped some details and rewrote them in one sentence. Actually, I faced more than one problem.
Occasionally, I added my own opinion, which was similar with author’s main point. However, a
good summary could not be added your own idea. To avoid this situation, I had to reread my summary after writing and deleted the unsuitable sentence. 

As I mentioned above, I didn’t add my own opinion in my summary, which I thought I did well. As an old saying, practice makes perfect. To write a good summary, I still need to read a lot and keep on writing. As reading a lot, I could learn many new vocabulary and useful grammar, which can be used in my own essay in my future.  



Leave a Reply.