Anqi Wang
2012/4/12
Engl 250
Ms. McCourt

Assignment 5 Reflection

The fifth assignment was mediation. This assignment required us to research one of a controversy and find mediation. Besides a research paper, a 10-minute presentation was also required. I am not familiar with American society. So my controversy was chosen from Chinese society.

Since the 20th century, China stepped to the industrial age. Using too many engines led to China suffering environmental problems due to pollution of the air and water. It is well known that the environmental quality in China is lower than the average of the world. We recognize the progress China, especially in industry, but China is still facing very serious environmental problems, it is an indisputable fact. When facing such big environmental problems, the government and non-government association will do everything to protect our environment. Some of the environmental conservation actions or techniques that are widely used in China may cause secondary damage by polluting the environment again. How to use those techniques became to a question.

The biggest problem I met was that my controversy and mediation were not clearly enough, which caused the structure of confusion. To solve this problem, I read my sources again and tried to find out the similarities. Besides, peer response helped me a lot. My partner gave me a lot of advice about how to restructure my paper. At last I decided to separate my sources into 3 groups. The first one was the controversial techniques we used. The second was the controversial policy from government. The last one was an action from non-government association. The second problem I met was that I could not connect my source with my mediation very well. By this I mean, I need more transitions to connect my source with my mediation.

I think peer review is really helpful. My partner pointed that I had better to restructure the first two paragraphs to make the background more clear. He also showed me how to combine 2 sentences into a big advanced one. By doing this, my essay seemed more professional and more convincing.

The presentation part was harder than last time. When I stand in the front of the classroom, I still felt nervous but felt much better than last time. There’s no doubt I think I should practice more. The more presentations I take, the more confidence I will have. I think I still need to practice more before real presentation. Try to memorize some details rather than just reading from the PowerPoint. Also I think I still need more eye contact with my audience.




Leave a Reply.