Anqi Wang
2012/3/7
Engl 250
Ms. McCourt
Reflection on Visual Rhetorical Analysis

The fourth assignment was visual rhetorical analysis. This assignment required us to analyze an ad from the internet or magazines. Besides an essay, a short presentation was also required. Among thousands of advertisements, I chose an ad of Nissan LEAF as The object of attention for an analysis. 
 
I found my ad on a printed magazine named Popular Science. To recommend the newly designed car called the LEAF and sell the energy-saving concept, Nissan Motors uses color choice, relative pictures and text on the ad. The target audience should be car and science enthusiasts and environment conservation advocates. As far as I’m concerned, the purpose of any ad is to sell more products, whatever is a car or a pair of shoes. However, the ad may not have only one purpose. For instance, when I saw the ad of Nissan LEAF, I realized a text on the ad, “Innovation for the planet and innovation for all.” I thought besides introducing their new product, Nissan Motors also wanted to sell a concept of energy-saving.  In other words, the second purpose of the ad was encouraging environment conservation. It was a little difficult tounderstand the whole purpose of an ad. To analyze an ad, I can approach from colors, emotions, texts analysis. I tried to find some details like why the creators used a sunflower. After analyzing most of the details, I recalled the purposes of the ad. Then I found the thesis and I could use details to support it. Overall, I think I have a good organization and good details to support my thesis. The first paragraph is an introduction and followed by a brief description of the ad. Then I analyzed the ad from choice of colors, choice of pictures and texts to approach the thesis. At last I got a conclusion. When I wrote my essay, sometimes, I might lose my logic. After analyzing a detail, I felt that what I said in my essay could not support my thesis. It was a useless analysis. Also, I didn’t know if I should put a sentence in paragraph one or two. To solve those problems, I think review the essay is the only way to solve
them. I found my classmates and instructor to help me and gave me a lot of effective suggestions. 

I think peer review is really helpful. Since I am an international student, most of time,  I cannot use a word very accurate. For
example, in my essay, I wrote “by using contrasting colors, people will be attracted by the ad subconsciously.” Actually my partner changed the word”subconsciously” from “unconsciously”. He described the difference between these two words and he thought “subconsciously” was more accurate. 
 
I think the hardest part of assignment 4 is the presentation. When I stand in the front of the classroom, I felt nervous and could not remember what I should say. There’s no doubt I think I should practice more. The more presentations I take, the more confidence I will have. After viewing all of the classmates’ feedback, I think I need have more body language and eye contact with my audience during my presentation. Also try to avoid being nervous. Hope I can improve myself for the next presentation. 





Leave a Reply.